In many times, new and seasoned users of furnace have been wondering whether they can effectively use their furnaces without filters. Our answer to this is yes and no. While it is a lot easier to ignore the importance of a filter, the effects of failing to use it far much outweigh the ignorance.

Never, ever run a furnace or an AC without a filter. You will come to realize that this is not the right place to go cheap and in addition to leading to high utility bills, your system will also get damaged. A lot of dust will accumulate on the blower fins, the AC evaporator coils, the air ducts, and the heater coils. That said, we may now turn our focus to buying a furnace filter. Several models of furnace filters exist on the market.

Needless to say, there is an avalanche of confusion when it comes to picking the best model as most seem to share some features. In this article, we pride ourselves of bringing forth a unique selection of top 10 best furnace filters the market has. Kindly take a few minutes to read through, paying attention to details.

1. Filtrete Basic Dust Filter

We begin our furnace filter review with Filtrete Clean Living Basic Dust Filter. This filter is ideal for the basic functioning of your high-velocity cooling and heating system. It efficiently reduces allergens and contaminants in your home. It’s effective in trapping of lint, household dust, pollen, and dust mite debris.

What We Liked:
  • Lasts up to 3 months
  • Electrostatic charged fibers
  • Performance rating of 316 Microparticle
  • Minimum Efficiency Reporting Value of 6
  • Frustration-free
What We Didn’t Like:
  • Requires regular replacement

2. Filtrete Allergen Defense Filter

Last update on 2020-11-27 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

If you have overwhelming allergies despite consistently replacing your filters, it is high time you upgraded to micro allergen defense filter. Filtrete Micro Allergen Defense Filter is designed with the filterete brand 3-in-1 tech. This enables it to suck in and get hold of large air particulate matter and other microparticles such as pollen, smoke, smog, mold spores, and pet dander.

What We Liked:
  • Washable filters
  • Filterete brand 3-in-1 technology
  • Performance rating of 1000 Microparticle
What We Didn’t Like:
  • Need for regular changing

3. Honeywell Ultra Efficiency Air Cleaning Filter

Last update on 2020-11-27 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

Do you work with people who are highly susceptible to airborne allergies and asthma? Is your family that young? Honeywell FC100A1037 Ultra Efficiency Air Cleaning Filter will adequately supply clean air to your home. You can count on it if you require more sensitive filtration in your home.

What We Liked:
  • MERV rating of 11
  • Polypropylene
  • Varied size fitting
  • Very versatile
What We Didn’t Like:
  • Fractional efficiency

4. Flanders Flat Panel Flow Air Filter

Last update on 2020-11-27 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

When it comes to the best furnace filter, versatility is a greatly admired attribute. Flanders Flat Panel E-Z Flow Air Filter prides itself of this quality. If you need an extremely versatile filter yet you are not quite sure of the model of your furnace, this HVAC filter comes in handy. It has a MERV of 4 and it efficiently filters lint, pollen, and dust from your office and home air.

What We Liked:
  • Pack of 12
  • Two-sided metal reinforcement
  • Compatible with most HVAC systems
What We Didn’t Like:
  • Low MERV rating

5. True Blue Air Filters

Last update on 2020-11-27 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

This furnace filter is a best seller online which prevents any form of pollution from taking place within the home. It changes very easily and only requires that you replace it once a year. It is very ideal for pet owners. Moreover, the product features a minimum efficiency value of 13, a tribute that the model boasts of.

What We Liked:
  • Lasts long before replacement
  • MERV rating of 3
  • Does not warp when installed
  • Heavy duty frame
What We Didn’t Like:
  • It is a bit clunky to install
  • Lack of rigidity in a few cases

6. Nordic Air Condition Furnace Filter

Last update on 2020-11-27 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

Given the environmental sufficiency and the current wave of SDG’s, we all have to remain keen on recycling, reuse, and pollution reduction. Nordic Pure Pleated Air Condition Furnace Filter is your number one choice if you happen to be an environmentalist looking for an eco-friendly furnace filter.

What We Liked:
  • Electrostatically charged
  • Pleated filters
  • High MERV of 12
  • MPR rating of 1500-1913
  • Recycled frame material
  • Hypoallergenic material
What We Didn’t Like:
  • We found none

7. FilterBuy Pleated Furnace Air Filter

Last update on 2020-11-27 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

This top-notch furnace filter is not only ideal for your residential air cleaning but also for commercial and industrial filtration. It has a high MERV rating of 8, enabling it to provide above-average filtration of air particulate. It captures large particles of air as well as allergens such as pollen and mold.

What We Liked:
  • 4 pack
  • MERV rating of 8
  • Durability against moisture and temperature
  • Highly versatile
  • Pleated air/furnace filter
What We Didn’t Like:
  • None for the price

8. Filtrete Defense Odor Reduction Filter

Last update on 2020-11-27 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

There are instances in which despite adequately using HVAC gadgets, the odor of your residence may still keep building up. In such cases, there is a great need for you to take action before this vise ups. This you can do by setting up Filtrere Allergen Defense Odor Reduction Filter. This ultimate furnace filter is fine-tuned and efficient in filtering air and removing odors

What We Liked:
  • MPR of 1200
  • Electrostatically charged filters
  • Strong odor removal
What We Didn’t Like:
  • Only lasts for 3 months

9. AIRx Allergy Pleated Air Filter

Last update on 2020-11-27 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

AIRx Allergy Pleated Air Filter is one of the best air conditioner filters available on the market today. It also keeps allergies at bay. It drastically reduces asthma, smoke, dust mite, pet dander, pollen, and mold particles. It is also of very high efficiency.

What We Liked:
  • High MERV of 11
  • More pleats per inch
  • Traps most airborne allergen particles
What We Didn’t Like:
  • None for the price

10. Trion Air Bear Replacement Filter

Last update on 2020-11-27 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

Trion Air Bear 255649-102 closes our list of top 10 best furnace filters. Though positioned 10th, this has nothing to do with it being of the least quality. It has a cfm airflow rating of 2000 as well as MERV rating of 8. Its ability is above average. In addition to protecting your furnace, it is also equally efficient in large harmful air particles such as dust, pollen, pet dander, dust mites, and pollutants within the air duct.

What We Liked:
  • MERV of 8
  • Electrostatic charged material
  • Pleated filters surface
What We Didn’t Like:
  • Each of its three pecks can only last for 3 months

Buyer’s Guide

As if the top 10 best furnace filters’ list is not enough, we thought it wise to supply you with a little more information. To this extent, we will cover some considerable factors that you need to have at your fingertips prior to heading to the showroom for a furnace filter. Stay with us.

1. System Specification

Every furnace is unique and the filters you choose should be of high efficiency. Even though HEPA filters tend to be the most efficient choice for eliminating pollutants from the air, they can hardly be accommodated by some residential systems. It practically takes a lot of power to pull air through HEPA filter’s fine mesh. As such, it is worth noting that using a filter which is not fitted for your HVAC system will only diminish the efficiency of your energy and may also damage your system in the long run.

2. MERV Rating

The efficiency with which a filter eliminates particles out of the air is greatly dependant on its MERV rating. Filters with lower MERV ratings usually experience a lot of dander, dust and other pollutants getting through. Ideally, for the purpose of home comfort and cleanest air, you should select a filter with the highest rating that can be handled by your furnace.

Final Thought

The quality of air within your surrounding matters a lot and it all comes down to the kind of filters that you use with your furnace. The need to fix a filter on your furnace is not subject to bargain. By referring to our top 10 best furnace filters review in conjunction with the buyer’s guide, you can never go wrong.

Last update on 2020-11-27 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *