Best Air Compressors Reviews By Consumer Reports 2019

From time to time, people are ever on the growing need to convert power into potential energy to be stored pressurized air. In such instances, an air compressor comes in handy.

Air compressors use a number of methods to force large volumes of air into a storage tank thus increasing the pressure. The compressor then automatically turns off the moment the tank pressure attains its engineered upper limit. Subsequently, the compressed air is strictly held in the tank until it is subjected to use. Once used in the form of kinetic energy and the tank depressurizes to the lower limit, the compressor once again turns on and re-pressurizes the tank.

Oh yes, that is enough lesson for today. By staying on this page to this far, I believe you are still interested in landing on a great air compressor that the market has to offer. Straight away, I will take you through our review of top 10 best air compressors. Read on.

List of The 10 Best Air Compressors.

Last update on 2020-09-18 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

10 Best Air Compressors Reviews By Consumer Reports 2020.

1. Industrial Portable Air Compressor

Last update on 2020-09-18 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

Industrial Air IL1682066.MN Portable Air Compressor is the best 20-gallon air compressor. Though on the pricey end, it is a flying first class model is far-reaching and gives you value for your hard earned money. It comes with a 20-gallon storage tank and a very special cast iron V-twin cylinder single stage pump. Air compression takes place in two cylinders all at the same time.

What We Liked:
  • High flow air compressor
  • V-twin cylinder pump
  • Automatic shut-off and restart
  • Quiet operation
What We Didn’t Like:
  • A little bit pricey

2. Makita Gallon Air Compressor

Last update on 2020-09-18 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

Makita MAC700 Gallon Air Compressor falls among the smallest air compressors on the market. Despite its small size, however, it has numerous pecks which will definitely drive you into going for it as one of the most sort after home improvement. It has a quiet operation and it really fills up very fast, taking less than 2 minutes.

What We Liked:
  • Quick recovery once the tank runs low of air
  • Quiet operation
  • Strong built, high performance
What We Didn’t Like:
  • A bit heavy

3. Dewalt Air Compressor

Last update on 2020-09-18 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

If you are only shopping for an air compressor which will effectively handle non-demanding home improvement projects as well as small handyman services, do not hesitate to go for Dewalt DWFP55126 Air Compressor. This 6-gallon compressor is one of the best in the small range that you will ever find worth your money. It is capable of producing 2.6 SCFM of air at 90 PSI pressure. It can also produce a maximum pressure of 165 PSI just in case you need air at higher pressures

What We Liked:
  • Produces 2.6 SCFM of air at 90 PSI
  • Quiet operation
  • Oil-free compressor
  • Good high flow regulator
  • Very portable
What We Didn’t Like:
  • A bit pricey
  • Leak air through the hose fittings

4. Bostitch Air Compressor

Last update on 2020-09-18 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

This is oil-less compressor which requires very minimal maintenance. It is a 6-gallon model capable of producing a maximum pressure of 150 PSI and at a standard of 90 PSI, it is able to produce 2.6 SCFM. You can comfortably use it to run tools such as finish nailers, framing nailers, and staplers among other tools which do not take more than 2.6 SCFM. You can also fill mattresses and tires comfortably using it.

What We Liked:
  • Produces 2.6 SCFM at 90 PSI
  • Oil-less compressor
  • Equipped with a high-efficiency motor
  • Meets inflation and fastening needs
What We Didn’t Like:
  • A bit noisy

5. DeWalt Air Compressor

Last update on 2020-09-18 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

If you happen to have more demanding tasks at your job site and probably wondering if you could get an air compressor to give you excellent service, look no further. Dewalt DXCMPA1982054 Air Compressor is a 20-gallon compressor which can comfortably help you out with framing a whole building. It is capable of producing up to 5.7 CFM of air at 90 PSI. This enables you to use many such air hungry tools in your workshop.

What We Liked:
  • Highly portable
  • Produces 5.7 CFM at 90 PSI
  • Ideal for more demanding tasks
  • Has a heavy duty induction motor
What We Didn’t Like:
  • No cons

6. Makita MAC2400 Air Compressor

Last update on 2020-09-18 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

MAC2400 is another decent model from Makita brand. It comes fitted with a big bore pump, making the compressor’s recovery process a bit quick. when the tank loses pressure. It comes with a 4.2-gallon twin stacked tank for a greater run time. It can hold a maximum pressure of 130 PSI. It also produces 4.2 CFM of air at 90 PSI.

What We Liked:
  • Quick recovery process
  • Runs two air tools at a time
  • Cool, quiet operation
  • Can be run with the normal 120 volts circuits
What We Didn’t Like:
  • It is on the heavy side

7. California Air Tools Air Compressor

Last update on 2020-09-18 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

This top-notch 8-gallon air compressor is capable of producing 2.2 CFM at 90 PSI. It also features a maximum pressure of 120 PSI. Moreover, you will never be disappointed if you are looking for an efficient compressor with a quiet operation if you fancy that. Its 1 HP motor which operates at a speed of 1680 RPM effectively keeps the dual piston pump running.

What We Liked:
  • Stores and compresses air up to a maximum of 120 PSI
  • Produces 2.2 CFM at 90 PSI
  • Oil-free compressor
  • Quiet operation
  • 30 seconds recovery time
  • Fills up in less than 3 minutes
  • Minimal maintenance
What We Didn’t Like:
  • The rubber tires are not of great quality

8. California Air Tools Air Compressor

Last update on 2020-09-18 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

If you wish to carry out some DIY projects at your backyard or simply looking for a small, portable air compressor for your handyman services, this might just be the right bet for you. Though it falls in the oil-free category, this air compressor indeed has a quiet operation. It has a dual piston pump which helps in filling up the tank quickly.

What We Liked:
  • Lightweight and easy to carry around
  • Quiet operation
  • Ideal for simple tasks
What We Didn’t Like:
  • Not effective for more demanding tasks

9. Powermate Vx Air Compressor

Last update on 2020-09-18 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

If by any chance, you tend to use high air demanding tools such as sandblasters, ratchets, and air hammers, you are definitely looking for an air compressor with high power. Powermate Vx PLA4708065 Air Compressor will deliver the service you need. This monster compressor has a larger storage tank and produces quite high CFM.

What We Liked:
  • Equipped with 3-piston pump
  • 80-gallon single stage compressor
  • 155 PSI storage pressure
  • Ideal for highly demanding tasks
What We Didn’t Like:
  • None

10. Industrial Air ILA4546065 Air Compressor

Last update on 2020-09-18 // Source: Amazon Affiliates // API made by AAWP Plugin.

This is another 3-piston single staged air compressor with a capacity of 60 gallons. It can be used with air hungry tools such as sandblasters, ratchets, and die grinders. Its design is such that it will keep with any high CFM air tool within your workstation. It is also capable of recovering quickly once the air pressure drops.

What We Liked:
  • Quick recovery
  • Ideal for complex tasks
  • 3-piston pump
  • 60 gallons
What We Didn’t Like:
  • None

Buyer’s Guide

It was nice going through a wonderful review of the top 10 best air compressors, wasn’t it? At this point in time, I would wish to take you through essential tips to consider when buying an air compressor. Here we go.

1. Horsepower

The rating of the horsepower should guide you in determining the size of the compressor you need. Usually, the industrial compressors are accurately rated. This justifies the reason an industrial 5 HP compressor tends to be approximately three times bigger and more expensive than the exaggerated hobby-type 5 HP compressor. To differentiate between the real and overrated HP, consider the amount of power it requires to run. The right one will draw around 24 amps on a 220 volts circuit.

2. Air Pressure

Air pressure is normally rated in PSI. To run properly, a good number of air tools require 90 PSI. This implies that you require a compressor with a higher shut-off pressure in order to maintain the 90 PSI at the tool.

3. Air Compressor Tank Size

Whilst a compressor tank does not produce air, it is responsible for storing it. It is undoubtedly important that you have a bigger tank as that will mean that you store more. If you are capable of producing more air and having a sufficient storage, you will most likely not run out of it whenever you need it the most.

Windup

Compressed air is of great importance whether a heavy-duty mechanic, a serious hobbyist, a contractor or an automotive technician. With an effective and quality air compressor, you will always get your desired volume to turn into the desired form of energy when necessary. We hope you found the article insightful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *